#22 – Workflow for dynamic graphics


Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 15.51.50

OK, so I’m a massive advocate of using LaTeX to create text documents for one main reason – they’re dynamic. If you change something in the source, it’s automatically changed in the document. This is why when I create R scripts for plots, I save them and the outputs in the LaTeX folder for the document. When I change the plot code, I don’t have to go make a duplicate in the LaTeX folder.

Anyway, you can build in the same workflow into your graphics design. If you’re making a poster or other graphic, simply “place” images into your document rather than copying and pasting them. Every time you change the original, it’s updated in graphic you’ve made. I’ve been doing this recently for my post for the Goldschmidt conference, and it’s been a real time saver since my data has remained dynamic right up until the day of printing!

Leave a Reply

